Skip to Main Content
Problems viewing this site
You are searching the Local Catalogue - Try this search in the SMART Libraries Catalogue
Recent Ratings and Reviews
Your search found 31 records. Displaying records 1 to 30.

  • 1.  CoverWillow Moss and the lost day
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 18 Jun 2019
    A lovely fantasy adventure where a young witch with a seemingly insignificant power is sent on a quest to save the world. A delightful read!

  • 2.  CoverMy brother's name is Jessica
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 18 Jun 2019
    A wonderfully thought-provoking story about a family's reactions when the older son announces he identifies as a girl. Their struggle to understand is made even more difficult by the mum's political career and the ensuing need for her to have the 'perfect' family. Really a great read.

  • 3.  CoverThe silence of the girls : a novel
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: NICOLA, PETONE, LOWERHUTT, 17 Jun 2019
    This was a visceral, brutal retelling of The Iliad from Briseis’ perspective.

    Others have criticised the chapters told by Achilles or Patroclus as it takes away from the female focus. I do think you need these for the plot to stay true to the myth however, there is too much of this in the latter stages.

    Though I think this was better written than Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles, my appreciation of this novel was enhanced by having read Miller’s previously.

    A worthy nominee for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019 and I believe would have been a more deserving winner

  • 4.  CoverThe woods. Vol. 1, The arrow
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: MIR, MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 03 Jun 2019
    spooky, funny and intensely gripping

  • 5.  CoverThe three escapes of Hannah Arendt : a tyranny of truth
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: KRISTEN, AVALON, LOWERHUTT, 27 May 2019
    I read this graphic novel twice and kept learning with each reading. It is written with passion and humour and is a concise summary of some of the great thinkers of the twentieth century. The drawings are wonderful. Highly recommend - and Hannah Arendt's thoughts about totalitarianism are relevant today.

  • 6.  CoverJosephine Tey [large print] : a life
    Rating: ★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
    Reviewed by: DONNA JANE, POMARE, LOWER HUTT, 27 May 2019
    I found this book very dry. Although the author had, "dug up" much information which had previously not been known (she asserts) the first 2-3 chapters read like a list - who were the family members, where they lived, occupations.....

    While there is no doubt that Tey made, "something of herself" despite custom and tradition given the place and time from which she came, there was no passion for the achievements in the telling.

    One glaring omission was the influence on the way in which, "The Daughter of Time" largely changed a view of a particular period of English history.

    Certainly, the book was included - it had to be - but not, I think, given the importance which it deserves.

    Well written but not stirring.

  • 7.  CoverBlood brothers : the fatal friendship between Muhammad Ali and Malcolm X
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 24 May 2019

  • 8.  CoverThe beekeeper of Sinjar
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 24 May 2019

  • 9.  CoverNobody's fool : the life and times of Schlitzie the Pinhead
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 24 May 2019

  • 10.  Try to remember everything [compact disc] : rare & unreleased
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 23 May 2019

  • 11.  CoverDoomsday [videorecording] : World War 1
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 23 May 2019

  • 12.  CoverParty [sound recording]
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 22 May 2019

  • 13.  CoverCleopatra [sound recording]
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 21 May 2019

  • 14.  CoverFawkes
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: ABBY, BELMONT, 16 May 2019
    Ummm, is anyone else as wowed as me? When I first picked out this book, I had no idea what to expect. Whatsoever. What I do know now after reading this is, IT WAS AMAZING! The whole storyline was grueling and one-of-a-kind! I loved this book!

    What It’s About

    This book is actually based on the infamous story of The Gunpowder Plot. Set in the 17th century of London, Guy Fawkes’ son, Thomas, is ready to get his Colour Power mask. But when his father never appears to grant it to him, he sets on a journey to find his missing father. Soon, Thomas is caught between a battle of Keepers and Igniters, and is struggling to choose a side.

    What I Loved

    Nadine Brandes wrote such a captivating novel. She created such a magical and atmospheric environment, it got me lost. I’ve never read a historical fantasy book before, and this one was just mind-blowing! The use of Colour Power, and masks were so clever, and the twist so bizarre, it really made for a great read.

    I really loved the characters in this book. They were so diverse and loveable. Thomas had such a unique voice and had a profound personality. He was brave but vulnerable, smart but headstrong. This book is written in first perspective of Thomas and it gives a great insight to Thomas’ thoughts and emotions. Emma was also a very different character. She was ambitious but kind, and she was very admirable. He and Emma made a gorgeous couple!

    Morals Included

    This book had many positive features inside it. Through the many trials that Thomas faces with his relationships and adventures, we learn the importance of inner-strength and passion. Thomas grew so much throughout the book, learning to break chains and overcome so much. Diversity was also a great aspect in the book. In the Author’s Note, Brandes explains the character of Emma and what she wanted her to represent. Emma represented ‘different’. An outcast from the others. Thomas learns to see past this and love her for who she is, and not judge her. To remember why he first fell in love.

    What I Didn’t Like

    There is really nothing to say here, the book was extremely clean from what I remember. There is quite a bit of violence, although this didn’t bother me. I would recommend this book for 13 year olds and up.

    Overall, a brilliant read! Read it! You won’t be disappointed.

  • 15.  CoverMidnight in Sicily : on art, food, history, travel and Cosa Nostra
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: MICHAEL JOSEPH, ALICETOWN, LOWERHUTT, 16 May 2019
    Excellent. That is all.

  • 16.  CoverWilderness
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: MICHAEL JOSEPH, ALICETOWN, LOWERHUTT, 16 May 2019
    This is good. Love the way author had me feeling empathy, for a time, for dreadful people.

    There's a message buried in the book somewhere about the need for fidelity.....I think.

  • 17.  CoverEven if I fall
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 15 May 2019
    How well do we know those closest to us and what they are capable of? When the unthinkable happens and her loved and admired elder brother is imprisoned for murder, how do Brooke and the rest of her family cope while carrying on living in the same small town? Great for provoking thought or discussion...

  • 18.  CoverClosed casket : the new Hercule Poirot mystery
    Rating: ★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
    Reviewed by: CHRISTOPHER CLEMENT, AVALON, LOWER HUTT, 14 May 2019
    I wish I had reread one of Agatha Christie's original Poirot novels instead. This one did not work for me.

  • 19.  CoverLong shot : my life as a sniper in the fight against ISIS
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 11 May 2019

  • 20.  CoverNine perfect strangers
    Rating: ★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
    Reviewed by: FIONA, ASCOT PARK, PORIRUA, 11 May 2019
    I was ill when I read this so maybe it had something to do with how I felt. While reading this I actually felt quite tense and claustrophobic. I usually enjoy Liane Moriarty books but definitely not this one.

  • 21.  CoverWe are displaced : my journey and stories from refugee girls around the world
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: SARAH (S), TRENTHAM, UPPERHUTT, 09 May 2019
    A wonderful, eye-opening collection of stories.Absolutely recommended reading.

  • 22.  CoverThe Katharina code
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: BARBARA JOYCE (S), FAIRFIELD, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    One of the books feat. Chief Inspector William Wisting. The author is a former policeman and this novel benefits from his experience. It is well written and although it is not fast paced, it moves along nicely, keeping you guessing. Would read more featuring this detective.

  • 23.  CoverThe Silver Road
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆
    Reviewed by: BARBARA JOYCE (S), FAIRFIELD, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    Dark and intense. This novel is well written but the theme is sad. However, the suspense builds at a good pace and you know something bad is coming. Satisfying ending. Very good read.

  • 24.  CoverQueen Victoria's matchmaking [sound recording] : the royal marriages that shaped Europe
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: BARBARA JOYCE (S), FAIRFIELD, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    This audio book is well narrated and good to listen to. It is not too 'academic'. Plenty of family anecdotes mixed in with major historic events. Highly recommend.

  • 25.  CoverSweep : the story of a girl and her monster
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    This story is set in 19th-century London, and follows the adventures of a girl working in the dangerous chimney-sweep business. This story will appeal to readers interested in the often-perilous lives of children in history, as well as those who enjoy some fantasy elements in their reading.

  • 26.  CoverThe book case
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    A fun mystery/adventure set in a very peculiar school for "spirited" girls. With quirky and colourful characters, and the occasional illustration, this is a great read for confident readers who enjoy mysteries and boarding school settings.

  • 27.  CoverWinterhouse
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★☆
    Reviewed by: JUDITH (S), MAUNGARAKI, LOWER HUTT, 07 May 2019
    Set in a fabulous hotel, this intriguing adventure contains elements of mystery and magic that will appeal to confident readers who enjoy puzzles. Great fun.

  • 28.  CoverPlanet Earth II [videorecording]
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: ANDREW, EPUNI, LOWER HUTT, 01 May 2019

  • 29.  CoverThe adventures of Catvinkle
    Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
    Reviewed by: KIM, STOKES VALLEY, LOWER HUTT, 07 Jun 2019

  • 30.  CoverTruth & beauty : the Pre-Raphaelites and the old masters
    Rating: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆
    Reviewed by: JEFF , WOBURN, LOWER HUTT, 14 Jun 2019
    This is a truly beautiful book. Comparing the work of the radical 19th century Pre-Raphaelites and the 15th and 16th century art they discovered in collections and travelling Europe. In addition to the outstanding illustrations of paintings there;s a whole section on sainted glass, tapestries and printing.

    I didn't read all of the text but reveled in the plates!